Taxes are payable quarterly on the first day of February, May, August and November. There is a 10 day grace period. After the grace period, taxes are delinquent and subject to interest back to the first day of that quarter.
Per the New Jersey Statutes Annotated 54:4-66, should the 10th fall on a weekend or a holiday, the grace period extends to the next business day. To avoid interest charges, payment must be received in the tax collector’s office no later than the last grace day for the period. Postmark is not accepted.
Any taxes remaining unpaid after the 10th of February, May, August and November are subject to interest from the first of each quarterly date. Interest charged is 8% on the first $1,500 of delinquency and 18% over $1,500 of delinquent tax.
As a statutory officer of the State of New Jersey, the Tax Collector is obligated to follow all of the State Statutes regarding property tax collection including billing, due dates and interest on delinquent taxes, no one has the authority to forgive interest on delinquent taxes.